90th Tea Party Goes with a Swing!
East Grinstead Rugby Football Club (EGRFC), one of the oldest and most respected rugby clubs in Sussex, celebrated its historic 90th anniversary in style last Saturday (22 June), when it opened its doors and threw a garden tea party.
Guests enjoyed a sunny afternoon of rock and roll dancing (Cat Whiskers), belly dancing (Grinstead Goddesses), along with live music (singer, Jo Jardim) and Pimm’s and games on the pitches.
Andy Poole, EGRFC President said: “We were thrilled to see members from times gone by join us, along with members of our community. A long-standing ex-player made a massive journey all the way from Canada just to celebrate our historic milestone with his friends. A proud afternoon for us all here at the Club and we would like to thank all those that shared our day and to the organisers and helpers for their loyal support and hard work as always.”
EGRFC was founded in February 1929 when a number of like-minded people met and the doors were opened. Thousands of players have worn the EGRFC shirt over the 90 years and the club has gone from strength to strength. With floodlit pitches, two Club Houses with the best rugby facilities, gifted coaches, dedicated volunteers, members, players, spectators and great venue hire, this gem of a rugby club forms an integral part of the local community.
History of the East Grinstead Rugby Football Club Logo
Updated 15:11 - 28 Jun 2019 by Milly O'Ryan-Bristow
The history and tradition embodied in the EGRFC logo – The five ostrich feathers have been a heraldic device for East Grinstead since 1572, when Thomas Cure, Member of Parliament for the former Borough, presented the town a seal: five blue ostrich-feathers with gold tips, his initials and those of the Duchy of Lancaster, of which the town was part.